Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: is the schaller rolling bridge

  1. #1
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default is the schaller rolling bridge

    worth the moola...i'm looking to get a enw bridge here.
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  2. #2
    Vintageologist crusty philtrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    7,516

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    No.

    what guitar do you plan to fit it to?


    The reason i say no is this.....i have always been a big fan of Schaller hardware. But i fitted a Schaller roller bridge to a guitar that i was very familiar with and it lost a whole lot of tone, way too much. That bridge was promptly removed. Other experiences since have taught me to never use a roller bridge unless there is no other option, too much tone gets lost.
    Lumbering dinosaur (what's a master volume control?)

    STALKER, NO STALKING !!!

  3. #3
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    haha, it's with one of my favorite guitars: a duo-sonic that really need a better bridge
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  4. #4
    Mojo's Minions JeffB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    13,878
    Likes (Given)
    859
    Likes (Received)
    351

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Had one on my Heritage HC150 (Les Paul clone). I like schaller hardware, but I'll never have another one of those bridges.

    Buy a Gotoh/TonePros/Schaller standard nashville style TOM and be done with it.
    I'm an internet person. All we do is waste time evaluating things that have next-to-zero real world significance.

    Remember, it's just a plank of wood. YOU have to find the music in it - The Telecaster Handbook

  5. #5
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    15,271
    Likes (Given)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    682

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    I never had a rolle tone-o-matic but the Flatmounts for hardtail Strats don't seem to cause loss of sound compared to a Fender hardtail.

  6. #6
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    i should've explained that it was the hardtail
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  7. #7
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    the issue is that there are not very many top loading bridges out there
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  8. #8
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    15,271
    Likes (Given)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    682

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Hm, I dunno.

    I have never directly converted a Fender hardtail (string-through) to a Schaller flatmount (top-loaded, rollers), but I have several of the flatmounts and they sound good to great.

    Keep in mind that Fender bridges, both tremolos and hardtails, have loose saddles, where the Schaller locks them down with a large side mounted screw. Whether the roller inside the locked saddles makes you lose all that again I dunno.

  9. #9
    Mojo's Minions pinto79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Aldergrove, B.C., Canada, eh?
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,859
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Put a Kahler 3300 fixed bridge on it. They are loverly.

  10. #10
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by pinto79 View Post
    Put a Kahler 3300 fixed bridge on it. They are loverly.
    totally forgot about kahlers! they are great.i actually wanted to put a trem on this one...a kahler one esp because they have the smallest routing space, look cool, and are great overall...but i decided i wouldn't use it
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  11. #11
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    the thing is, I NEED this to be a top loading bridge. so i can't do the fender stuff so i'm looking for a good alt. right now its the kahler. but before the schaller looked like a good quality choice
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Tone Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    385
    Likes (Given)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    58

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    I would say if you need a new bridge go TonePro. If your putting a Bixby or some kind of trem on it then maybe a Schaller. I bought a used SG and it had a Schaller roller on it for reasons unknown. The tech I brought it to changed it out with an ABR-1 because he said the radius of the Schaller was wrong for the neck. I found out after the fact it's the same, 12".

    I still have it if your interested 25.00 shipped. No posts.

    Scott

  13. #13
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    i need a top loading strat bridge....
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  14. #14
    Toneologist wanmei1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    812
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Thumbs down Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    I have had a Schaller roller bridge fitted to my Epi Wildkat............What a dissapointment !
    It significantly reduces sustain and midrange tone !
    It also doesn't in any way help the guitar to stay in tune when using the bigsby.
    Although this is my only experience with a Schaller roller, I would have to say......"avoid it like the plague."

  15. #15
    JustAskinologist cream123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MN
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10,492
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    130

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    yet again....lookin at the strat bridge....third time i've said that?
    Quote Originally Posted by kilphody View Post
    There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

  16. #16
    Moe's Bluesman Curly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    California
    Age
    65
    Posts
    6,988
    Likes (Given)
    123
    Likes (Received)
    64

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by cream123 View Post
    i need a top loading strat bridge....
    check into the Hipshot hardtail

    the Schaller roller is more for a Bigsby
    "music heals"
    facebook

  17. #17
    CheapGuitarologist ArtieToo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Age
    60
    Posts
    15,486
    Likes (Given)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    309

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by cream123 View Post
    the thing is, I NEED this to be a top loading bridge. so i can't do the fender stuff so i'm looking for a good alt. right now its the kahler. but before the schaller looked like a good quality choice
    I have the Kahler and the Schaller both on two almost identical guitars, and the Kahler is definitely the bigger tone-sucker. I also have the Hipshot to put on yet a third of the set, but it isn't completed yet.

  18. #18
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    15,271
    Likes (Given)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    682

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    This is what cream and I talk about:


    As you can see, it has rollers on the saddles, but the saddles are "more fixed" than in a Fender bridge.

  19. #19
    Mojo's Minions JeffB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    13,878
    Likes (Given)
    859
    Likes (Received)
    351

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by uOpt View Post
    This is what cream and I talk about:


    As you can see, it has rollers on the saddles, but the saddles are "more fixed" than in a Fender bridge.
    Nice looking bridge- I like how it's all "contained" like a PRS trem bridge.

    Cream I've no experience with top loaders like that other than a Kahler trem but that looks pretty solid (what Uopt posted).
    I'm an internet person. All we do is waste time evaluating things that have next-to-zero real world significance.

    Remember, it's just a plank of wood. YOU have to find the music in it - The Telecaster Handbook

  20. #20
    LoveMachineologist jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    albany, ny
    Age
    37
    Posts
    20,850
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    434

    Default Re: is the schaller rolling bridge

    ive used that bridge on a few guitars ive built cause thats what the customer wanted. i didnt like it at all. cool idea but it didnt work for me. i kept popping the strings out of the roller

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •