Thread: Boss CS3 for Bass?

Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Boss CS3 for Bass?

Will Boss's CS-3 Compression/Sustainer work for bass?

I want to get a Dynacomp instead but it's a little too pricey for me especially since I'm really a guitarist who just wants to goof around with my bass guitar every now an then. My practice bass amp (25-watter) doesn't have a built in compressor, and I'm looking at a cheapo compression unit. I'm also thinking about DOD Milkbox compressor.

Thanks for the replies!

Mount Airy, NC, USA - My johnson can cure Halitosis!
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Boss CS3 for Bass?

A compressor is a compressor is a compressor. I don't see why it wouldn't work for Bass. I have a bass and a very slightly modded CS-3. (it has only one larger cap installed in it)

I'll hook up the Bassman and see how it does. The mod mine has does make things a bit clearer and less unfocused sounding than the stock CS-3 and it doesn't change the tone of the signal at all. I think it should work very well for that purpose.

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Possible differences between compressor pedals aimed at guitarists and bassists,
    1) The frequencies over which the EQ works.
    2) The ability to handle seriously hot signals from active circuitry.
    3) Multi-band comping is handy for bass (some times).

If you are practicing through a small fartbox combo, a Limiter pedal might be more appropriate.
    Esperanza Spalding - "You have to have something to say; chops don't matter. If you have nothing to say on your instrument, I'll just go home and listen to albums with people better than you."

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)