Thread: First time messing with magnets, need ya'lls help.

Third Stone From the Sun, in the Land of Oz.
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default First time messing with magnets, need ya'lls help.

Well folks, I here a lot on the forum about magnet swapping, and changing one quality of pole for another. I have a few PU's I pulled out of my MIM Strat and for $h!t's -n- giggles I wanted to put in these Alinco V mags I had left over from a vintage noiseless that went microphonic on me. Now I was under the impression that you don't want to disturb the poles from their waxed set in. Please educate me on this subject, but remember I am a beginner. Thanks Bro's.
    Last edited by house; 09-10-2011 at 05:17 AM.
    "The grass maybe greener on the other side, but you still have to mow the M@$ha F#*ka..."

"HOUSE OUT!"

Varg

Default Re: First time messing with magnets, need ya'lls help.

Is this single coils?

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Are you talking about SSS, or HSS? The "vintage noiseless" pups are single coils and the mag swapping that you "here" (sic) about on this forum is in regards to the mags in hummers. If your guitar is HSS and you are referring to the humbucker pup, then have fun with the mag swap. Don't worry about the pole pieces.
    Originally Posted by IanBallard
    Rule of thumb... the more pot you have, the better your tone.

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Varg View Post
    Is this single coils?
    Oh sorry, my fault. I'm using single coils.

The one with the cover is the crappy stock pickup.
    "The grass maybe greener on the other side, but you still have to mow the M@$ha F#*ka..."

"HOUSE OUT!"

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

People generally don't swap mags in single coils. It's an easy way to destroy a pickup.

the stock MIM pickup is also a different design... it's a ceramic magnet glued to the bottom of steel poles which become temporary magnets.