Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jet City Amps

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Jet City Amps

Here in the UK the distributor for Jet City is selling new amps cheap on eBay (due to them needing the warehouse space, translation: no one wants to buy them). I'm always half on the lookout on a decent high-gain 2x12 and head or combo for smallish gigs and these have obviously got my attention. I'm also looking 6505/5150s and the new Laney Ironhearts, but I'm a poor student and it's not very easy to try anything before I buy it if I want to stay cheap.

Therefore what are your opinions on dem der Jet Cities? also ideas on alternatives are more than welcome

P.S. In terms of High gain, I'm talking metalcore and melodic death, as well as more 'classic' stuff and in my limited experience I don't seem to like pushing the amp, but using the most brutal channel with moderate gain and using the headroom to keep it tight and clean. However, I have owned two amps and not played through many more, so I'm probably talking complete
    Quote Originally Posted by DrNewcenstein View Post
    Gear > Women
    Quote Originally Posted by Aceman View Post
    In Metal we learn that "This one goes to 11", and that 11 is one more than 10.

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Jet City Amps

This guy does the best demos of Jet City amps. If this is the tone you're after then go for it. Otherwise maybe save and wait to buy a used 5150/6505.

I don't listen to much of that type of metal so not entirely sure how a melodic death metal guitar should sound. However I think I've heard of some popular metalcore guitarists using JCA.
    GuitarStv: O.o

BadHairDayologist Empty Pockets's Avatar
    repeated exposure to high sound levels (more than 80 decibels)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

they are modern-voiced but vintage-styled

by that i mean they sound best medium-crunchy and boosted with an OD for metals.
    green globe burned black by sunn

Likes (Given)