Thread: replacement pups

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default replacement pups

Hi, newbie here looking for some advice on replacement humbuckers for my Godin lg, which currently have schaller tetrad pups...should state the Godin is made of mahogany w/ string through design....I play through a boogie dual rec.w/ a boogie 2x12 cab...I play anything from maiden to Gary Moore...I need more output, sustain w/ harmonics...I am not an active pickup guy....Ty..

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: replacement pups

The SH-5 custom is the best place to start

Ultimate Tone Slacker Reckless Abandon's Avatar
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Sh5 will cover a lot ground. Not sure on output. Distortion may be perfect
    Peavey Wolfgang(USA) At-1(b)/Air Norton(n)
    Meanstreet Exile (Wolfgang Copy) A2 VHPAF(b)/VPAF(n)
    Sterling AX40 stock (Axis copy pickups)
    Epiphone LP Special EMG 85 bridge
    1986 Epiphone S900 59/Custom Hybrid: stock singles (Duncan's to come)
    Rouge P Bass Quarter Pounders
    Epiphone Acoustic with seymour woody
    1984 Marshall JCM 800 4010 Voodoo Modded w/Celestion g12t-75

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Custom 5.
    Originally Posted by IanBallard
    Rule of thumb... the more pot you have, the better your tone.

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

+1 for Custom SH/TB-5.

I found the Custom5 (SH/TB-14) to be WAY too mid-scooped in Mahogany.
    My Music

Fender MIJ '62RI strat: Rose BuffBeauty/Robusta/Robusta | Jolly Roger Cutlasscaster: CustomRCA3/Little'59 | Squier Pro-Tone Strat: Stock | CTN Polaris: JB/Hot Rails(b) parallel | Fender Showmaster: PG+/'59N
    CTN Exploder 880 bass
    Korg Pitchblack, Boss NS-2, Crybaby, OCD, East River Drive, Monte Allums GE-7, Nova Repeater
    H&K Tubemeister 18 | Retro30/ET65 in a Saxon custom 2x12

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

[QUOTE=ConvoysToNothingness;3050817I found the Custom5 (SH/TB-14) to be WAY too mid-scooped in Mahogany.[/QUOTE]