Thread: Alnico II Pro (APH-1) bridge model in neck?

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Alnico II Pro (APH-1) bridge model in neck?

Hello! This is my first post and I'd like to throw an interesting question out there.

So I have this 1979 Washburn Falcon (if you see one do yourself a favor and buy it!) that I bought back in December, it came with a damaged bridge pickup so I put a Custom Custom in it's place, however, at the time I also decided to replace the neck pup with a Duncan and I decided to get an Alnico II Pro bridge version because I thought it would make a better match given the SH-11 output.

Anyway, now I find myself pondering whether that was a good idea or if I should have bought the regular neck version instead. It sounds fine to me, but I have no experience with this model so I don't know if it sounds like the neck version is supposed to sound, albeit the slightly increased output :-S

What's your take on this?

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Alnico II Pro (APH-1) bridge model in neck?

Well really if its working for you and you like the tone what is the problem? Sure pickups are labeled neck and bridge but but its more a suggestion that a rule. Some pickusp work just fine in either slot some not so much just depends. If the bridge version isnt overpowering the CC you have the bridge and your happy with the tone I say have it at it and enjoy
    "It keeps you fit - the alcohol, nasty women, sweat on stage, bad food - it's all very good for you." -Bon Scott

"Let me put it this way: the 5150 will treat
    you better than any girlfriend, because it screams louder, it's easier to pick up, and it shuts up when you take your plug out." -Rip Glitter

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

The bridge model has a few more winds, it will be slightly hotter, probably a bit smoother with less high end and more mids.

Nothin wrong with a bridge PAF in the neck, sometimes they are even better than the neck model!