Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

  1. #1
    Stratologist Pierre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Age
    28
    Posts
    9,263
    Likes (Given)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    The way I see it, the send allows you to use pedals before the preamp, so the effects of the pedal aren't distorted, or to use a Boost there, and the return bypasses the preamp. So how would you plug in the pedals? Output to send and input to return, and the guitar plugged in normally...? But wouldn't that bypass the preamp then, or does it do that only when there is nothing in the effects send?

  2. #2
    Hootersologist Kac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Pueblo, Colorado
    Age
    28
    Posts
    4,656
    Likes (Given)
    341
    Likes (Received)
    92

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    Take the cord from Send to your pedalboard input, then from the pedals output to the return on the loop.

    The pedals will now be after the preamp.

    If you plug your guitar into the regular amp input the preamp will still be working but the pedals will be after it, so they won't effect the preamp's sound.
    2002 Ibanez S Classic - Duncan Designed HB-103
    2010 Dean Vendetta - Duncan Designed HB-108

    Ibanez > DS-1 > Egnater

  3. #3
    Ultimate Tone Slacker shredaholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bingley, UK
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,519
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    Effects loop are placed AFTER the amp's preamp, and before the phase inverter. That means you can put the pedals inbetween the preamp and phase inverter, in the signal path there. Even with the phase inverter on max distortion, my delay pedal sounds sweet and ambient unlike before the amp

  4. #4
    Stratologist Pierre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Age
    28
    Posts
    9,263
    Likes (Given)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    So pedal's input to send, and outputs to return. Makes sense. You then get guitar -> preamp -> effects -> poweramp instead of guitar -> effects -> preamp -> poweramp. Cheers!

  5. #5
    Ultimate Tone Slacker shredaholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bingley, UK
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,519
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    Quote Originally Posted by Pierre
    So pedal's input to send, and outputs to return. Makes sense. You then get guitar -> preamp -> effects -> poweramp instead of guitar -> effects -> preamp -> poweramp. Cheers!
    That's right, think of it in how the signal path travels, ie. send to pedals input, it gets processed through the pedal, then out of output into the return jack where the signal returns to the amp to go to the poweramp.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Tone Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    492
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    usually drive/boost/distortion/wah pedals are used before the pre amp, then pedals like delay/chorus and EQ are used in the loop.

  7. #7
    Toneologist DesertRose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    860
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    So I see .. EQ can also be used in the FX loop.
    I always thought it was only the delay, chorus and phaser
    Gibson Songwriter Deluxe
    Gibson 1959 reissue
    Gibson 1960 reissue
    Mesa "Electra Dyne" Boogie

    Freedom through the blood of Christ

  8. #8
    Ultimate Tone Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    492
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    Yes, the EQ in the loop will shape the tone and give you a volume boost if you wish. In front of the amp, it will just slam the pre amp harder giving you more gain/compression. Works great both ways.

  9. #9
    Super Toneologist Jeroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,109
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    14

    Default Re: How to use an effects loop: Send and return...

    You may find this article very helpful:
    http://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=227
    Guitars: EBMM Silhouette Special / G&L ASAT Special / ESP Horizon / Squier MIJ Strat / Squier Aff. Strat / Furch S23-CR / Taylor Baby
    Basses: Cort NTL-BFL acoustic fretless / Ellio Martina Forza 5 / Fender MIJ '75 RI Jazz / G&L SB-2 / Ibanez MC924 / Ibanez ATK300 (2x) / Ibanez ATK305 / Italia Torino / Longbow 2-string / Rickenbacker 4003 / Sandberg Bullet 5 fretless

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •