Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

  1. #1
    Toneologist Ocifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    874
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    I'm grabbing some new pickups for my Strat soon, and I wanted to make sure all the wiring/components are good. I'd like to test my pot values to see if they're actually at 250K. I know a multimeter is useful, but I'm overwhelmed. How advanced does it need to check the components I'd come across doing guitar work? I went to a local gadget store and there were several, ranging from $20 to $50. If I don't need the more expensive one, I'd rather just go with the cheaper one. Anyone got any advice? What requirements or features do I NEED?

  2. #2
    LoveMachineologist jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    albany, ny
    Age
    37
    Posts
    20,907
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    442

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    for guitar work any multimeter should work, the current we are dealing with is pretty small.

  3. #3
    Toneologist Ocifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    874
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    Thanks. Also, just ot clarify: to measure the value of a pot, I have to disconnect (unsolder) it, right?

  4. #4
    Toneologist Ocifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    874
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    bump

  5. #5
    TheArchitect
    Guest

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    Quote Originally Posted by Ocifer
    Thanks. Also, just ot clarify: to measure the value of a pot, I have to disconnect (unsolder) it, right?

    Yes you do for accurate measurement. Even your finger in contact with one of the probes can skew the reading a bit.

  6. #6
    Bengalsologist MikeS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,848
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    19

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

    That's the one I use. Seems to work just fine.

    Yes, you need to measure the pots when disconnected.
    Duncan Pickups in currently in use: '59 (rewound to PATB-3)/'59, Custom 5/AP2H, Tapped QP set for Tele, Duncan Distortion, SP90-1/SP90-2

  7. #7
    Toneologist Ocifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    874
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeS
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

    That's the one I use. Seems to work just fine.

    Yes, you need to measure the pots when disconnected.
    Thanks, yeah that's the one I'm looking at too. Will probably grab it tomorrow.

  8. #8
    Tone Member jclogston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Age
    39
    Posts
    306
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeS
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

    That's the one I use. Seems to work just fine.

    Yes, you need to measure the pots when disconnected.
    That's the one i have....works fine.

    jeff
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    Charvel MIJ So Cal - Dimarzio Tone Zone / Evolution
    Engl Ironball w/ 1x12" (Celestion Lynchback)
    Boss DD-7

  9. #9
    Toneologist Alvin Lee Fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    724
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Measuring Pot Values [Multimeter question]

    Quote Originally Posted by jclogston
    That's the one i have....works fine.

    jeff
    I've got that one, too. Works fine for me. I also bought two insulated alligator clips that push on the ends of the probes so I'm sure that only the meter is in contact with the part. No stray readings affected by my fingers, etc.

    These right here, http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family
    Last edited by Alvin Lee Fan; 02-17-2006 at 07:43 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •