Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

  1. #1
    Ultimate Tone Slacker JammerMatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Camas, WA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,369
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    13

    Default Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    Hey guys,

    I just picked up Cakewalk Guitar Tracks Pro version 3. I am using Soundblaster live with 5.1 Support, whatever that means. It has 1/8" inputs, and they are mic, and I think line-in... it looks like a concentric circles with an arrow pointing into it.

    My amp is a Line 6 with twin XLR outs. The Line 6 manual tells me that in "Studio Mode" the XLR outs will be "+4 Line Level outs."

    1. What the does all that mean?

    2. Does anyone know if the Soundblaster Line In will handle +4 line level in?

    3. Should I use the Mike in?

    If I sound like I have no clue it's because I don't.

    -Matt
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_F View Post
    On that day, should I ever be so unlucky, I will expect an unholy assault of pure metal mayhem attacking all my senses with a little tiny voice in the background screaming Effing Hails!

  2. #2
    Tone Ninja Xeromus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,946
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Default Re: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    I use a soundblaster audigy 2 platinum EX. Works great for recording and other stuff. I happen to hate the sound quality of the soundblaster live though, flat and lifeless. As for your question, I'll have to look into it.
    "it is a really hard song. it has like 3 different power chords in it. i just learned what power chords are, i thought it was the thing from your amp that you plug in to the wall."

  3. #3
    GuitarArtologist kmcguitars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Long Island , N.Y.
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,885
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default Re: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    I use a soundblaster with pro 3. I run everything thru my tascam 4 track
    (as a mixer) before it hits the soundcard. There's not a lot of info as to how hot a signal you can put into it? I would suggest you use the line in jack
    and go into the soundcard properties and lower the volume all the way
    than bring it up slowly. Best bet is to use a mixer of some sort so you
    can control the signal B4 it hits the card.

  4. #4
    Super Toneologist Marcel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    germany
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,134
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    don't use the mic in it's for crappy computer mics. Use the Line in.... It should work. It works with my v-amp 2 too....
    RG 550 [JB | SingleSizedHole(TM) | V1 (to be replaced)]
    TS 7 (modded)
    Hot Rod 50+ XL
    Framus Dragon 4x12
    V-AMP II for practice

  5. #5
    Ultimate Tone Slacker JammerMatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Camas, WA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,369
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    13

    Default Re: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    Well, one of these days I'll figure this out and post something.

    Will just about any kind of mixer do as an intermediary between the amp and the sound card?

    -Matt
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_F View Post
    On that day, should I ever be so unlucky, I will expect an unholy assault of pure metal mayhem attacking all my senses with a little tiny voice in the background screaming Effing Hails!

  6. #6
    Heel Whacker tone4days's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    central Maryland
    Age
    50
    Posts
    15,224

    Default Re: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    you will need cables that switch from the xlr line out on the line6 to the 1/8" line in .. the soundcard will work fine with line in ... do not use mic in, the line in signal will be too hot and fry that channel on your soundcard (or worse!) ... 5.1 just means surround sound, nothing to get involved with for your purposes

    good luck
    cheers
    t4d
    gear list in profile

    "no seymour - no tone ... know seymour - know tone!"

    Is it not the glory of the people of America that, whilst they have paid a decent regard to the opinions of former times and other nations, they have not suffered a blind veneration for antiquity, for custom, or for names, to overrule the suggestions of their own good sense, the knowledge of their own situation, and the lessons of their own experience?" - James Madison - Federalist #14

  7. #7
    Ultimate Tone Slacker JammerMatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Camas, WA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,369
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    13

    Default Re: Anybody use Soundblaster card?

    Tone4days,

    Thanks a bunch, I appreciate it. I'll drop by the music store and frankenstein a XLR to 1/8" input.

    -Matt
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_F View Post
    On that day, should I ever be so unlucky, I will expect an unholy assault of pure metal mayhem attacking all my senses with a little tiny voice in the background screaming Effing Hails!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •