Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hey Lew!! 50's wiring on a Strat?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Hey Lew!! 50's wiring on a Strat?

I've heard you mention that you can perform the 50s wiring scheme on a Strat. I'm not too good at reading schematics. I've been looking at schematics of the 50s wiring for a Gibson and I can't figure out how to relate that to Fender wiring.

Help!!!

Thx

Default Re: Hey Lew!! 50's wiring on a Strat?

you'll have to wait a bit as he's away for the weekend.. bump it up tomorrow afternon

Thx Davey!

Slutbucker Pimpologist ArtieToo's Avatar

The beauty and simplicity of the 50's mod is, no matter what kind of guitar it is, you just remove the tone control from where ever it is now, and wire it directly across the output jack.

Thats the 50's mod.

Click on the image for the full-size version.

Also, keep in mind, since a Strat has two tone controls, you need to remove them both. Which will leave you a hole to play with.

Artie

You're saying I'd have to drop one tone control and go to one master tone?

Quote Originally Posted by Alvin Lee Fan
    You're saying I'd have to drop one tone control and go to one master tone?
    Not necessarily. Give me one sec . . .

I'm about to update that pic with a way that lets you keep both tones.

I think . . .

Edit: I decided to leave that pic in place, in case someone wants the Strat with 50's mod with one tone control.

Here's how to do it and keep the original tone control configuration, but with the 50's mod:

Note here, that I made one of the wires "red" so you could easily see where it does, and doesn't, connect. This should work. At least on paper.

One other quick note: This follows the original Strat configuration of having no tone control for the bridge when the bridge is selected by itself.
    Last edited by ArtieToo; 10-17-2004 at 01:47 PM.