Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good homemade string cleaner

Ultimate Tone Slacker dmandude123455's Avatar

Default Good homemade string cleaner

My strings are getting a bit dirty, and I dont have any string cleaner so does anyone have any suggestions on a homemade recipe for string cleaners?

Thanks
    Last edited by dmandude123455; 06-11-2010 at 08:40 AM.
    88-89 Fender HM Strat(Dimarzio pickups)
    Fender Blacktop Jaguar(JB/Jazz)
    Guitar>TU-2>Ernie Ball Volume Pedal>Joyo Octave Fuzz>SD-1>Small Stone Phaser>Amp(Effects loop>DD-7>DD-20>Holy Grail)
    Vox NightTrain 50.
    My Band

Ultimate Tone Slacker Red_Label's Avatar

Default Re: Good homemade string cleaner

I always just have a bottle of 70 or 90% rubbing alcohol handy. And a sock. I tip the bottle with the sock covering it's opening, to wet the sock with alcohol. Then I wipe the sock up and down the string a few times and that's it. I've been doing this for like 15-20 years and do it after every playing session. I'm able to get strings to last for many months (unless I'm gigging -- then I change them for every gig).
    "Always remember... all you do in life, comes back to you" - Roy Kahn, formerly of Kamelot, during the intro to "Karma" on their One Cold Winter's Night DVD

http://www.soundcloud.com/jwflamenco

sweat

Try boiling them. Take them off, wipe them, boil them, wipe them again, restring.
    Sometimes it helps.
    "The amp has been making a lot of noise and acting funky, perhaps it may be aware of the amount of rock it's about to be punished with" ~GearMannDude
    "30 days of dating doesn't seem like cheating. It seems like legitimate playing the field, and you happened to catch a pop fly..." ~Aceman
    "If all else fails, wank, fall asleep, come back to it the next day." ~GuitarStv
    "The crowd has no perception of tone...only timing and flow." ~Glassman

Stratoblaster Tone Meister STRATDELUXER97's Avatar