Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 112

Thread: Help from any computer gurus out there

  1. #1
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Help from any computer gurus out there

    I'm having a computer problem.

    I'm running a Windows 7 PC with an M-Audio Fast Track Pro through Reaper and it's crashing. It only crashes when I'm doing an operation in Reaper that takes a lot of power, like rendering a track. Not sure what this means.

    The crash report tells me that two things crashed simultaneously:
    "ntoskrnl.exe" (Windows boot kernel...whatever that is)
    "maudiofasttrackpro.sys" (Fast Track Pro driver)

    As woemoejack suggested, I tried to roll back the driver to an earlier version, but my computer has this option grayed out.

    Anyone know how to fix this? I'm out of ideas and I haven't been able to work on my music in a couple weeks while I've been fighting with this. I don't mind reinstalling Windows and starting from scratch if that will fix it, but I'm not going to waste my time reinstalling everything if that's not the solution. Thanks guys.
    Last edited by SabbathFan0220; 05-24-2011 at 07:08 PM.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  2. #2
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Alright, another night of troubleshooting in vain. I'm totally ready to buy a different audio interface...if that's the problem...
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  3. #3
    Ultimate Tone Member briggleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charles Town, WV
    Age
    60
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    First question..... has this program/procedure ever worked on your system.... or did this start happening after previous successful sessions? or its never worked???

  4. #4
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by briggleman View Post
    First question..... has this program/procedure ever worked on your system.... or did this start happening after previous successful sessions? or its never worked???
    Thanks, Briggleman. It used to work. The first crash happened a little while after I had installed an additional internal hard drive for backups. I can only assume this is unrelated, as the new drive isn't being read from and/or written to when I'm using Reaper.

    I'm using Windows 7 x64, SP1.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  5. #5
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,292

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by SabbathFan0220 View Post
    Thanks, Briggleman. It used to work. The first crash happened a little while after I had installed an additional internal hard drive for backups. I can only assume this is unrelated, as the new drive isn't being read from and/or written to when I'm using Reaper.

    I'm using Windows 7 x64, SP1.
    Do you have a copy of your older driver. Have you tried re-installing that version of the driver.
    How big is your pagefile.sys [ virtual memory ]
    Is it set to " let windows manage it for me "
    If so, set it to an equall maximum and minimum Custom size.
    EG; min=2000Meg
    Max=2000Meg

    NTOSkernel is the core file of your windows. Your memeory dump says the problem is how the driver is intereacting with it. It doesn't say why in laymans terms.
    Check your cables to your new hard drive and make sure they are plugged in properly.

  6. #6
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Thanks, GV. I don't have an old version of the driver, but I just tried reinstalling the new one. No luck.

    How do I check the size of the virtual memory?

    Everything on the new hard drive is plugged in correctly, and the drive works properly.

    I just did an experiment that I think proves the issue is with the Fast Track Pro and not with Windows. I went into Reaper's options and set it to use a different record/playback device, unplugged the FTP, and did a bunch of editing that would usually cause a crash. Everything worked as it should. Unless I'm mistaken, I think I found the culprit.

    Also, I had Windows test my RAM, and there were no issues found.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  7. #7
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Can you answer my questions from the other thread? (why two?)

  8. #8
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,292

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by SabbathFan0220 View Post
    Thanks, GV. I don't have an old version of the driver, but I just tried reinstalling the new one. No luck.

    How do I check the size of the virtual memory?

    Everything on the new hard drive is plugged in correctly, and the drive works properly.

    I just did an experiment that I think proves the issue is with the Fast Track Pro and not with Windows. I went into Reaper's options and set it to use a different record/playback device, unplugged the FTP, and did a bunch of editing that would usually cause a crash. Everything worked as it should. Unless I'm mistaken, I think I found the culprit.

    Also, I had Windows test my RAM, and there were no issues found.
    Go to control Panel>System>Advanced>Performance[settings]>Advancd[ Virtual Memory-Change. Click custom size. fill in amount click set .
    Click OK there's a few applys on the way back out and then you need to reboot to make the change effective.


  9. #9
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by uOpt View Post
    Can you answer my questions from the other thread? (why two?)
    Sorry about that. I opened the other thread to complain about M-Audio's support, I opened this one looking for forum help about the problem. I'll close the other one.

    Unfortunately, the driver on the included software CD isn't compatible with Windows 7 at all. It won't even recognize it. I'll try the 32 bit version of the driver and report back. Oh, and it's USB. Thanks for the suggestions.

    EDIT: I just tried to install the 32 bit version of the driver, but apparently both 32 bit and 64 bit are both included in one exe package. Even though the one I downloaded was labeled 32 bit, my computer opened it and said "click next to install FTPx64..."
    Last edited by SabbathFan0220; 05-24-2011 at 02:31 PM.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  10. #10
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenVulture View Post
    Go to control Panel>System>Advanced>Performance[settings]>Advancd[ Virtual Memory-Change. Click custom size. fill in amount click set .
    Click OK there's a few applys on the way back out and then you need to reboot to make the change effective.

    Okay, my virtual memory is currently set to 12,279 MB...you think increasing it would change anything?
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  11. #11
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Is this USB, PCI, PCIe, PCI-X, firewire, S-Bus , Nubus or what?

    Power supply?

    You should seriously consider that their 64 bit driver might be screwed up. That happened a lot, when 32 bit drivers from the same manufacturer would work.

  12. #12
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Thanks, uOpt. I explained about the driver above.

    It's USB, and it's also powered by the USB.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  13. #13
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Ah. Stop doing that

    If it doesn't have a plug for a PSU then get a USB hub that has a power supply.

  14. #14
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by uOpt View Post
    If it doesn't have a plug for a PSU then get a USB hub that has a power supply.
    Sorry if this is a stupid question, but...why?
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  15. #15
    Something Cool uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by SabbathFan0220 View Post
    Sorry if this is a stupid question, but...why?
    Because on-mainboard USB ports are notoriously bad at routing power all the way from the main PSU through the board to the device.

    Worse, messing with the USB device can thereby destabilize the main computer. And the Op still didn't say what PSU he has.

    With laptops it's even worse since heat comes into play.

    The OP isn't able to answer question in a complete manner so there's no hope. But in general, to debug things like this you actually start with a general stability test of this box. For all we know the USB thing works OK but the whole box is unstable, but he only notices instability when using the USB soundcard because that's the only time it's fully loaded.

  16. #16
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Oh, my computer's power supply? Sorry, I misunderstood, I thought you were asking how the FTP was powered. It's a custom made desktop with a Cooler Master 550W power supply...THIS ONE.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  17. #17
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,292

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Originally Posted by GoldenVulture
    Go to control Panel>System>Advanced>Performance[settings]>Advancd[ Virtual Memory-Change. Click custom size. fill in amount click set .
    Click OK there's a few applys on the way back out and then you need to reboot to make the change effective.





    Quote Originally Posted by SabbathFan0220 View Post
    Okay, my virtual memory is currently set to 12,279 MB...you think increasing it would change anything?
    Way too much, unless you have 8gig of ram.
    I presume it's set to " let windows manage it " or a windows allocated max and miniumum which differ.
    You don't want it varying while your trying to use the disk.[ recording, mixing ]
    That's why one should set it to an equall max and minimum.

    VM rule of thumb is; 1 and 1/2 times your ram.
    EG; 1 gig ram - VM 1.5 gig
    2gig ram - VM 3gig.

    Choose custom Setting
    SET the maximum and minimum boxes to the same amount
    EG Min-2000Meg
    Max-2000Meg

  18. #18
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenVulture View Post
    Way too much, unless you have 8gig of ram.
    Haha, I actually have 12GB, but I'll try to set it to a fixed value and see what happens. I'll report back, thanks.

    EDIT: I set the virtual memory to a minimum and maximum of 2000 MB and it crashed again. No luck. Thanks for the help though, GoldenVulture.
    Last edited by SabbathFan0220; 05-24-2011 at 09:19 PM.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  19. #19
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    I'm pretty fed up with this whole thing. I'm starting to shop around for other USB interfaces just to get back to my recording/editing/mixing.

    Unless someone thinks the problem is with my computer and not the FTP, I think I'm done with M-Audio.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

  20. #20
    Super Toneologist SabbathFan0220's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Westport, CT
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Help from any computer gurus out there

    I'm bringing this thread back with an update.

    I replaced the M-Audio Fast Track Pro with a Tascam US-1800. Still crashing. I reinstalled Windows from scratch along with all of the software and drivers. And it's still crashing.

    The last time it crashed I was in the middle of editing, and the project file got corrupted somehow in the crash. I have a backup, but I lost a lot of editing work. I guess my question is...who can help me diagnose this problem? I understand this is a guitar/pickup forum so the answer might not be here. I don't know if I need to switch to a Firewire or PCI interface, or if my computer just can't handle the load.
    "Everything must be black, like the storm of justice!"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •