Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    Hi everyone

    I'm trying to install SD hot rail set (T-style) in my Mexican telecaster but the bridge pickup seems to be little too big for bridge plate.
    Please help.

    Name:  SD problem.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  52.6 KB

  2. #2
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,266

    Default Re: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    I can't quite see how it isn't fitting from the pic...are the screw holes not lining up, or is the bobbin itself too big?
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    The bobbin itself is to big. I had EMG T set earlier and it worked completely fine. Don't know why it doesn't fit.

  4. #4
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,266

    Default Re: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    Hmm, is the Tele pickup you took out the same size as a USA Tele pickup? I ask because I know some Jazz basses that are not made in the USA don't have the same size pickups as a USA set.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  5. #5
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,282

    Default Re: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    File the hole? Seems like I've had to do that to fit HRs in strat pickguards before. Granted, kinda bites to file on the nice chrome finish.

  6. #6
    Mojo's Minions Gtrjunior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Wherever you go, there you are.
    Posts
    5,339

    Default Re: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    I just bought a Joe Barden bridge for my Tele for $40...
    You could just replace the stock bridge.
    I got the one with the extra screw holes in the front of the bridge. The little 59 was feeding back pretty bad and this new bridge solved that for me.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Hot rail not fitting my Telecaster

    Thank you guys. I've filed the bridge for now and it fits (pain to watch) Also I ordered new vintage style bridge.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •