Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    Hello again everyone! I have made a good number of changes to my rig since my last post. I'm currently considering purchasing the Boss LS-2 Line Selector for some easier switching, however I'm not certain if it's going to suit my needs. There are two basic sounds I'd like to switch between:

    Clean - Chorus pedal, acoustic simulator pedal
    Crunch - Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor (in the FX loop), Boss GE-7 Equalizer (in the FX loop), Ibanez Mini OD

    I have several other pedals that I'd like to use separately on either "channel" whenever I want to, however the previously stated pedal combinations are my two mains that I switch between all the time.

    For all you pedal gurus out there, is this something that I can do? How would I hook it up? What pedals should go where if I want other pedals in the chain to use separate controlling? (I use a Digitech Drop, a phaser, a wah, and a looper in other scenarios. I'm okay with having to change these all separately).

    Thank you for any assistance!!

    Josh

  2. #2
    Mojo's Minions dave74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Illi-ana line road, USA
    Posts
    3,355

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    This might be helpful.

    http://stinkfoot.se/archives/4080

  3. #3
    Ultimate Tone Member Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    422

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    I used mine two decades ago to send one 12 strings guitar to two amps : One guitar amp and and one bass amp with the treble removed.
    It allowed us to improvise music similar to NAKED CITY "Torture Garden" with the bass always following the guitar as it was played by the same person.
    At ties I could also turn off the pseudo bass.

    Thanks your reminded me of this pedal I forgot.
    Smartphone Zombies won't shred

  4. #4
    Little Pigbacon
    Guest

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    It looks like a very flexible pedal, but I’m not sure how it would handle the two pedals in the FX loop in your Crunch scenario. Does your amp have a foot-switchable FX loop?

  5. #5
    Mojo's Minions Gtrjunior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Wherever you go, there you are.
    Posts
    5,815

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    You might be better off looking at a loop switcher like the boss ES-5 or ES-8.
    Musicomlab also makes switchers as does Donner, Mooer etc..

  6. #6
    I poop in my KISS diapers while I cry that they are mean to me Aceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    I came from outer space - that's how I know your name!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34,679

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    Ima gonna suggest you signal chain it out for us here like this:

    Electric Guitar > Drop > OD > Loop Pedal >

    Loop 1 > Acoustic Sim > Chorus > Amp

    etc....



    Just gotta draw it out a bit.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

  7. #7
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,875

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    It would be fine switching from the chorus and sim pedal to the OD pedal, but the stuff in the loop won't change at the same time. If you can live with the EQ and NS2 in front of the amp, it will work fine.

  8. #8
    I poop in my KISS diapers while I cry that they are mean to me Aceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    I came from outer space - that's how I know your name!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34,679

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    I get the impression though that he wants one touch convenience.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

  9. #9
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,875

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aceman View Post
    I get the impression though that he wants one touch convenience.
    That's why I suggested moving those pedals from the loop to the front of the amp, he could control via one touch that way. Otherwise, you're looking at something way more expensive and programmable

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    Thank you again everyone for the help. I think I have a better understanding of how this pedal can help me. I’m still relatively new to the whole tube amp and several pedal game so it’s nice to have some assistance from the verterans. Thanks again!

  11. #11
    Mojo's Minions dave74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Illi-ana line road, USA
    Posts
    3,355

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    It's such a cool pedal but can cause a huge cable mess if it's not all planned well, and you'll need the right cables to make it reasonably neat.

    You can essentially have four pedal groups out front, or four groups in the amp's loop; the before group, two patch loops, and the afters.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Jacew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,387

    Default Re: Thinking about getting a Boss LS-2 Line Selector?

    I used one to control Deluxe electric mistress, (volume drop + blend). It seems like a swiss army knife pedal, but I really haven't found use for it since. There's always something it doesn't allow which makes it not good for situation: You can't use it for blending and loop switching, only either one also buffers in it are not switchable off, so it doesn't work with POG or Fuzz, the exact pedals I actually needed the loop for.

    It's more limited than you think, but can be just exactly what you need in some cases.
    "So understand/Don't waste your time always searching for those wasted years/Face up, make your stand/And realize you're living in the golden years"
    Iron Maiden - Wasted Years

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •