Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 heads, one cab

Professional Scapegoat BloodRose's Avatar

Default 2 heads, one cab

Question. I’ve never done this before, so wanna make sure I’m ok..
    I brought my PV ultra plus Home. Normally I use my Carvin 4x12 for that head. No room for the cab so making due. Ok, my spawn 4x12 has 2 inputs ( I think all my cabs do) one of them on the splawn has the Neutric locking jack, the other does not. I left my spawn head plugged into that jack and plugged my PV head into the other jack. Is it ok to plug 2 heads into one cab? Assume so as they put two jacks on it. Next, the cab is rated 16 ohms.. set both heads at 16 ohms?? Lastly, can one actually PLAY both heads thru same amp at same time??
    Believe me when I say that some of the most amazing music in history was made on equipment that's not as good as what you own right now.

Jol Dantzig

Default Re: 2 heads, one cab

If it's a stereo 4x12 you can run it with 2 amps driving 2x12's each. Just make sure the selector switch is set correctly. A 16ohm cab would indicate that it's 4 16 ohm speakers wired series/parallel. So for stereo operation you'd want the amps set to 8 ohms. Yes you can run two amps at the same time...the stereo cab is effectively two 2x12's in one box. But NEVER and run two amps into the same set of speakers...that would be bad.

No, its not a stereo cab. Do not connect both heads. You will damage both heads.
    Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Ultimate Tone Slacker Nostalgic Distortion's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by PFDarkside View Post
    No, it’s not a stereo cab. Do not connect both heads. You will damage both heads.