Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Boss ce-5

  1. #1
    8 strings of madness! JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    18,371

    Default Boss ce-5

    I'm not a huge chorus fan, but this seems like a good choice for going into two amps, and is readily available for $50 or less.

    Yay or nay?

  2. #2
    Toneologist JMP/HBE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    675

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    CE-2 is way better.

    Ive had a couple CE-5's. Didn't really bond with them but better than nothing.

    They're stereo at least.

  3. #3
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,363

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    The CE-5 worked fine for Zakk Wylde for fattening things up and splitting into 2 amps.

    Kinda hard to split the signal with the CE-2 since it's mono (although the new WAZA version is stereo).

  4. #4
    Tone Member SAguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Yeah, I've had one of those on my board for years, and it just keeps working. It's good for those times when you just have to turn on a little chorus. I keep it subtle.
    "Live by the Groove, Die by the Groove."

  5. #5
    I poop in my KISS diapers Aceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    I came from outer space - that's how I know your name!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34,490

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Meh - get a CH-1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

  6. #6
    8 strings of madness! JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    18,371

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    All I want it for is to use two amps at the same time.

  7. #7
    Mojo's Minions dave74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Illi-ana line road, USA
    Posts
    3,348

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Boss should do a Waza EQ with upgrades and stereo out. Buffer switching too.

  8. #8
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,619

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    I think they do a waza Dimension, which is a really great chorus.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  9. #9
    Toneologist Obsessive Compulsive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Holle auf Erden
    Posts
    944

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Get Zoom MS70CDR. It has stereo routing, CH-1, CE-5, clones, tuners, EQ and other bells and whistles you won't need. It's my main modulation effect.

  10. #10
    I poop in my KISS diapers Aceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    I came from outer space - that's how I know your name!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34,490

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    If all you want is stereo get an ABY pedal....
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

  11. #11
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,363

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Quote Originally Posted by Aceman View Post
    If all you want is stereo get an ABY pedal....
    That will run 2 amps in mono, that's not stereo, but yes, it will work. A chorus will give you the option of adding some depth. But yes, a CH-1 will work nicely too.

  12. #12
    Toneologist JMP/HBE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    675

    Default Re: Boss ce-5



    Nothing beat this for Chorus/Flange/Pitch Mod in a stereo pedal.

  13. #13
    8 strings of madness! JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    18,371

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Quote Originally Posted by Aceman View Post
    If all you want is stereo get an ABY pedal....
    This is probably a good idea.

  14. #14
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,363

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    If you want to run 2 amps, an ABY pedal is a good idea. Stereo is a different animal. You'll probably want the ABY to be buffered or have a buffer in the chain otherwise the guitar signal will see the input impedances of the amps in parallel. Will that make a difference? Can't say if it will be noticeable or not.

  15. #15
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,619

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Of course, I have to mention the home team, the Catalina Chorus. It sounds wonderful in stereo.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  16. #16
    8 strings of madness! JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    18,371

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    I’m sure the Catalina is great, but there’s no way I’m spending $229 on a chorus pedal.

    Thanks to Aceman and Devastone for pointing out that all I need is an ABY. Only reason I asked about the Boss chorus is they’re available sub-$50.

  17. #17
    Mojo's Minions dave74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Illi-ana line road, USA
    Posts
    3,348

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Quote Originally Posted by JB_From_Hell View Post
    I’m sure the Catalina is great, but there’s no way I’m spending $229 on a chorus pedal.

    Thanks to Aceman and Devastone for pointing out that all I need is an ABY. Only reason I asked about the Boss chorus is they’re available sub-$50.
    CH-1 should be low used price also. That's my suggestion as a great cheap choice.

  18. #18
    Toneologist JMP/HBE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    675

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Quote Originally Posted by dave74 View Post
    CH-1 should be low used price also. That's my suggestion as a great cheap choice.
    Yeah but the CE-1 takes up 2 square feet of space on a pedalboard.

  19. #19
    Mojo's Minions Kamanda~SD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ottawa
    Age
    28
    Posts
    4,457

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Quote Originally Posted by JMP/HBE View Post
    Yeah but the CE-1 takes up 2 square feet of space on a pedalboard.
    CH-1 is standard Boss size.
    TOUQUE ROCK...EH???? I AM CANADIAN

  20. #20
    Toneologist JMP/HBE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    675

    Default Re: Boss ce-5

    Quote Originally Posted by Kamanda~SD View Post
    CH-1 is standard Boss size.
    Misread post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •