Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    31

    Default Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Hi,


    Just got a good deal for a new german made gold floyd rose that came with an R2 nut.

    The lower in height of the R2 is not a problem because one can shim it up higher but the closer spacing is what im worried.

    is ok to use a nut that has closer in spacing than the original nut had wider spacing? would that hurt playability or make it look funky?

    also, the bridge that i have has the new FR logo and not the patent numbers on the sustain block, i noticed it has a long flat shim under the BGDA saddles. not the high/low E. what radius is it with and without the shim? i had floyd rose german before but never seen shim on any of the saddles..

    the guitar that im replacing the bridge with is a floyd special. cant seem to see any shim on any of the saddles yet the guitar plays great with the lowest action a ever had with no string buzz.

  2. #2
    Super Toneologist DavidRavenMoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,124

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Id get the correct nut, unless you like the closer string spacing. I like wider nuts myself.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Mojo's Minions
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,745

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Middle 4 string shim is typical and used for radii ~10"
    "New stuff always sucks" -Me

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidRavenMoon View Post
    I’d get the correct nut, unless you like the closer string spacing. I like wider nuts myself.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Hmm so one can use the closer spaced R2 nut if i like it and theres nothing wrong with it other than preference. Never tried a neck with closer spacing but for this particular guitar, i always seem to struggle with moving from high string to the lowest string. I guess id get the correct nut. Sigh.. i wont be able to install it then. Perhaps i could install the bridge and everything that comes with the box just not the nut.
    Last edited by budubum92; 04-13-2019 at 11:04 AM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Quote Originally Posted by Adieu View Post
    Middle 4 string shim is typical and used for radii ~10"
    Ill take the shim out as the neck in question is 13.78 radius

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Just to make it clear. Is 10 radius much more bend curve than 13 right?

  7. #7
    Mojo's Minions
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,745

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Quote Originally Posted by budubum92 View Post
    Just to make it clear. Is 10 radius much more bend curve than 13 right?
    Yup

    Vintage curvy is 7something, shredder superflat is 16
    "New stuff always sucks" -Me

  8. #8
    Super Toneologist DavidRavenMoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,124

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Quote Originally Posted by budubum92 View Post
    Hmm so one can use the closer spaced R2 nut if i like it and theres nothing wrong with it other than preference. Never tried a neck with closer spacing but for this particular guitar, i always seem to struggle with moving from high string to the lowest string. I guess id get the correct nut. Sigh.. i wont be able to install it then. Perhaps i could install the bridge and everything that comes with the box just not the nut.
    Yes you can. I dont like narrow necks like on a Rickenbacker. I have long fingers, so things get crowded at the nut end.

    But if it feels comfortable to you then use that. You can always replace it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidRavenMoon View Post
    Yes you can. I don’t like narrow necks like on a Rickenbacker. I have long fingers, so things get crowded at the nut end.

    But if it feels comfortable to you then use that. You can always replace it.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Ill try with an R2 because i have shorter fingers. And its like i said im having issues with ascending from high E to lower E. Something i havent experienced with my other guitars that are also wide. But not as wide as this neck.

  10. #10
    Underglazed Hair Metalologist 80's_Metal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    17
    Posts
    9,129

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    In my humble opinion, it doesn't matter what nut you play, if it works for you.
    I've had a few guitars with different nuts on them, no big deal.

    One guitar I remember, kept slipping the 6th string off the board, so I had to look up which nut was narrower and I installed that one. Perfect!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Using R2 nut with an R3 neck floyd rose

    If your strings match up with the poles on your pickups it shouldn't matter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •