Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 57

Thread: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Iíve had my Peavey Windsor for a while and never had any issues with it. I recently bought a Peavey 2 button footswitch and hooked it up. Everything was working as expected: Boost engaged, Effects Loop was deactivated. After about 10 minutes the amp pilot light went off and on again and the footswitch stopped working.

    I unplugged the footswitch and soon found that the boost button no longer engages the boost and the effects loop doesnít work. I plugged straight into the return but am not getting any sound.

    I replaced the preamp tubes from one of my other amps but that did not resolve the issue.

    The amp produces an output via both the high and low gain inputs and the controls work like normal.

    I have experience wiring guitars and troubleshooting simple stomp boxes and know enough to keep clear of capacitors. But reading schematics is not my forte. Been trying to tackle the Windsor schematic regardless (https://www.thetubestore.com/lib/the...-Schematic.pdf)

    Any guidance would be much appreciated!
    Last edited by aneurysm5000; 01-22-2019 at 10:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Her Little Mojo Minion DankStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mosh Pits of Utumno
    Posts
    14,501

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    just spitballing here, but if the jack was never used could it be it's a bit oxidized and needs some deox spray and a wire brush?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    It was working initially when I first plugged it in though. I went ahead and sprayed some contact cleaner and cleaned it anyway as per your suggestion. Still nothing


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    The boost and the effects loop are switched by a couple of relay switches that the foot switch links to when plugged in. They're fed by a 24v supply
    Check your fuse F202, it is on the 24v supply.

    . After about 10 minutes the amp pilot light went off and on again and the footswitch stopped working.
    That could've been the fuse blowing.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenVulture View Post
    The boost and the effects loop are switched by a couple of relay switches that the foot switch links to when plugged in. They're fed by a 24v supply
    Check your fuse F202, it is on the 24v supply.

    That could've been the fuse blowing.
    Thanks! Tested the fuse for continuity in circuit and out. Looks like itís still good.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Ok, I'll look at the circuit a bit more. Do you have a multi-meter ?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenVulture View Post
    Ok, I'll look at the circuit a bit more. Do you have a multi-meter ?
    Thanks and yes I do. Went through and re-soldered any joints that looked questionable. Cleaned anything that looked dirty. Still the same behavior.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by aneurysm5000; 01-24-2019 at 04:55 PM.

  8. #8
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by aneurysm5000 View Post
    Thanks and yes I do. Went through and re-soldered any joints that looked questionable. Cleaned anything that looked dirty. Still the same behavior.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    . After about 10 minutes the amp pilot light went off and on again and the footswitch stopped working.
    This suggests something in there died.
    If you can find R49 on the Power Supply, one end should read 24v and the other 12v. Confirm that they are working. [ they're the 24v and 12 volt feeds. ] Apart from the 24v feeding the relays, they both feed a transistor on the loop send.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenVulture View Post
    This suggests something in there died.
    If you can find R49 on the Power Supply, one end should read 24v and the other 12v. Confirm that they are working. [ they're the 24v and 12 volt feeds. ] Apart from the 24v feeding the relays, they both feed a transistor on the loop send.
    Managed to take voltage readings on R49, but nothing was being detected. I took the schematic and started taking voltage readings from all components (except capacitors) all the way back to the F202 fuse. I took readings on both sides and wrote the values. Hereís my drawing.



    Is this telling me R22 might be the culprit?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Yes, it sure looks like it. Nothing getting through.
    Good work, that was the next thing I was going to suggest to test [R22], if you had nothing at R49.
    From your diagram you have 30v on one side.The parts list says it's 550 Ohms 5 W. 560 Ohms 5w is probably more available and will work just as well.
    [ If your wondering about the 03v reading at the diode, that's because that side of the diode the power is AC ]
    Last edited by GoldenVulture; 01-24-2019 at 09:57 PM.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by GoldenVulture View Post
    Yes, it sure looks like it. Nothing getting through.
    Good work, that was the next thing I was going to suggest to test [R22], if you had nothing at R49.
    From your diagram you have 30v on one side.The parts list says it's 550 Ohms 5 W. 560 Ohms 5w is probably more available and will work just as well.
    [ If your wondering about the 03v reading at the diode, that's because that side of the diode the power is AC ]
    Nice! Thanks a ton for your help! I definitely learned a little something about reading schematics too and what different symbols mean.

    I will order the part and let you all know how it goes.

    Thanks again.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by aneurysm5000 View Post
    Nice! Thanks a ton for your help! I definitely learned a little something about reading schematics too and what different symbols mean.

    I will order the part and let you all know how it goes.

    Thanks again.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Resistors are cheap , you ought to get a few. They're readily available at electronics/hobbyists shops too, if you have one near.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    I got the part today and replaced it. Still nothing.

    After some more probing and troubleshooting it looks like I overlooked a few things...dammit.

    Inserting the guitar cable halfway into the effects loop return produces sound through the speakers, but full insertion produces nothing.

    Readings that said 000 originally @ 600 in my multimeter actually produce values at more significant figures. Iím attaching an updated image with the values and settings used to take measurements.





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    That looks like it's all doing its thing. Q1 which drives the Send Signal is fed by the 24v directly.
    I suggest test it. Do you know how to test transistors ?
    Is your multi-meter digital or analog ?

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Sorry for the communication gap. Ended up removing the transistor to test it. It was such a pain in the ass to put back I ended up taking a break from it. I have a digital multimeter btw.

    So the transistor seemed to be an NPN and I managed to get readings from both sides. I put it back and started taking readings in that circuit. Do the readings tell me the transistor is the issue? Maybe I should replace it just in case.







    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by aneurysm5000; 01-30-2019 at 06:52 AM.

  16. #16
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    There should be a voltage at the Emitter so it may not be working. If it is you should be able to get some sound from the FX send.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Miraculously I had some patience today and sat down to re-solder the transistor properly.

    Here are my readings

    How can I test a signal coming from the send jack? Can I simply send that to another amp like small practice amp?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by aneurysm5000 View Post
    Miraculously I had some patience today and sat down to re-solder the transistor properly.

    Here are my readings

    How can I test a signal coming from the send jack? Can I simply send that to another amp like small practice amp?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes. You should be able to.

  19. #19
    Mojo's Minions Gtrjunior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Wherever you go, there you are.
    Posts
    5,087

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Iíve been following this thread intently...I just grabbed a Windsor from a local guy selling his.
    Great amp for the money.

  20. #20
    Braindeadologist GoldenVulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Over at Rainbow in the Land of OZ
    Age
    66
    Posts
    24,294

    Default Re: Peavey Windsor Effects Loop/Boost Issue

    Great for modding too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •