Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Amplier recording 101 question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    8

    Default Amplier recording 101 question

    Hi. I have a question I’m pretty sure I know the answer to but I do t really know the “why”. So why can’t I take an amp head, like the Orange Micro Terror 20watt, and go direct line from the “speaker out” and plug that into the line-in of a digital multitrack recorder, to record my guitar through that amp? Or can I do that and get ok results?

  2. #2
    LoveMachineologist jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    albany, ny
    Age
    42
    Posts
    29,110

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    you can use a line out but not a speaker out and even the direct out wont sound "right" the speaker is a big part of the sound of an electric guitar so most people use a speaker simulator of one kind or another

  3. #3
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,824

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Speaker out is High Current/Voltage not Line Level -DO NOT DO THAT

    Your Multitrack recorder input can ONLY take line level or less -meaning you need a "line out" of the amp -so since you don't have one -use the Phone out -but only one side -either left or right. -
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Pretty sure the voltage out of a speaker output would be a lot higher than the input on the recording device would be expecting.

    Sent from my SM-J320W8 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by jeremy View Post
    you can use a line out but not a speaker out and even the direct out wont sound "right" the speaker is a big part of the sound of an electric guitar so most people use a speaker simulator of one kind or another
    Thanks. Are there any inexpensive speaker sims to put between an amp speaker out and a daw recorder, that you know of

  6. #6
    BadHairDayologist Empty Pockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    repeated exposure to high sound levels (more than 80 decibels)
    Age
    32
    Posts
    11,783

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    You can do this safely by running the headphone out from your Micro Terror to your interface. It emulates a 4x12 cab, too.

    You can't do that with most all-tube amps but with Orange Micro heads, you can safely run them unloaded.
    Last edited by Empty Pockets; 04-18-2019 at 12:27 PM.
    green globe burned black by sunn

  7. #7
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Jacew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,284

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    To clarify:

    Never connect anything else, except speaker or load box designed to replace the speaker, to Speaker out.

    If your amp has Solid State power amp, you can run it without speaker connected.

    If it has headphone out or line out you can use that to record direct.

    If your amp has Tube power amp, never turn it on without speaker, or load that replaces the speaker.
    "So understand/Don't waste your time always searching for those wasted years/Face up, make your stand/And realize you're living in the golden years"
    Iron Maiden - Wasted Years

  8. #8
    Sock Market Trader GuitarStv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,965

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Good stereo or high fi speakers will reproduce sound in a very neutral and flat way from 20 Hz to 20,000 Hz. Guitar speakers are anything but flat. They're usually extremely hyped in the mid range with little to no bass and high frequencies. Try plugging your guitar into the line in on a hi-fi system and you'll see what it sounds like when you record direct in . . . it's a weird sound that your ears are not used to. The amp speaker radically reshapes the sound of the amp, and we're very used to hearing it.
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Ok thanks for all your replies. I really didn’t know I should completely avoid using the speaker out as line out. Or not to run an amp head with out speaker or something connected.

    So are amps with “emulated speaker out” through the headphone jacks any different than any amp that has a “headphone out” jack? Or does an emulated headphone out have something more to it? Would the “speaker out” to a Red Box type amp simulator give me better sound than “headphone out”?

  10. #10
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,824

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by Martyb View Post
    Ok thanks for all your replies. I really didn’t know I should completely avoid using the speaker out as line out. Or not to run an amp head with out speaker or something connected.

    So are amps with “emulated speaker out” through the headphone jacks any different than any amp that has a “headphone out” jack? Or does an emulated headphone out have something more to it? Would the “speaker out” to a Red Box type amp simulator give me better sound than “headphone out”?
    The Headphone jack is good to use -it's usually right before the power output section -not sure on the Terror where it is -An emulated speaker output is a line level pick off of the power output section -safe for recording and sounds like the entire amp -cool to have but getting a recording from the Headphone out will sound great -it's the preamp section.

    Also -let me be very clear -IF YOU HAVE A HEADPHONE OUTPUT CONNECTED -YOU DO NOT NEED A SPEAKER CAB ATTACHED TO THE SPEAKER OUTPUT -engaging the headphone out bypasses the input to the output transformer -I read the manual for you.


    but the moment you pull a cable out of the headphone output -if the amp is on you MUST have a load (Speaker cabinet attached)
    Last edited by NegativeEase; 04-18-2019 at 05:28 PM.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  11. #11
    Mojo's Minions LLL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Evil Volcano Lair
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,209

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    You need to line out (many ways, some built in) somehow with your amp, then in the DAW use a speaker iR (if you want full control over the "speaker" tone, that is).

    For example, here's my ADA MP-1 lined out to DAW with speaker iR, EQ, etc:

    Last edited by LLL; 04-18-2019 at 05:38 PM.
    Lefty Lounge Lizard's Guitars & Amps Extravaganza



    Fastest ears in the West

    Quote Originally Posted by Edgecrusher View Post
    I thought it sounded great, until I heard something that sounded good.
    Guitaramped.com

  12. #12
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,283

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by NegativeEase View Post
    but the moment you pull a cable out of the headphone output -if the amp is on you MUST have a load (Speaker cabinet attached)
    *EDIT* I did say that the micro terror doesn't need a speaker hooked up because it is a solid state amp, but NegativeEase is correct, the manual does say it needs to have a speaker connected.
    Last edited by devastone; 04-18-2019 at 05:40 PM.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,824

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by devastone View Post
    *EDIT* I did say that the micro terror doesn't need a speaker hooked up because it is a solid state amp, but NegativeEase is correct, the manual does say it needs to have a speaker connected.
    I wasnt calling you out BTW, on principle you were/are correct -I just learned that in the manual and thought it was relevant.

    It's probably a good idea never unplug the speaker cabinet.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  14. #14
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,283

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    I didn't think you were calling me out at all, good catch. Not sure why that would be on a SS amp, but safest to do what the manual says.

  15. #15
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,824

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by devastone View Post
    I didn't think you were calling me out at all, good catch. Not sure why that would be on a SS amp, but safest to do what the manual says.
    Cool, because It would take a lot for me to correct or call something out in a rude way -It's not in my nature. I encourage respect for all -I'm a fan on civilization in principle.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  16. #16
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,300

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    There are a lot of pedals and load boxes these days as direct recording has become super popular. I do direct recording with my Fractal (digital out) as I don't have the space for a traditional speaker/microphone setup here.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Ok thanks for the info. I don’t have a micro terror, it was just an example I was considering. So to use the “speaker out” I would need a amp simulator AND something for the load, if I didn’t have a speaker cab attached. BUT I don’t need to do that because the “headphone out” will give decent results for line out recording. (Just don’t unplug the headphone out without speaker attached. That’s what I think your consensus is

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by LLL View Post
    You need to line out (many ways, some built in) somehow with your amp, then in the DAW use a speaker iR (if you want full control over the "speaker" tone, that is).

    For example, here's my ADA MP-1 lined out to DAW with speaker iR, EQ, etc:


    Yes that’s good sound. So IR = impulse response software plugin?

  19. #19
    Mojo's Minions LLL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Evil Volcano Lair
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,209

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by Martyb View Post
    So IR = impulse response software plugin?
    Correctamundo. (yes)
    Lefty Lounge Lizard's Guitars & Amps Extravaganza



    Fastest ears in the West

    Quote Originally Posted by Edgecrusher View Post
    I thought it sounded great, until I heard something that sounded good.
    Guitaramped.com

  20. #20
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Jacew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,284

    Default Re: Amplier recording 101 question

    Quote Originally Posted by Martyb View Post
    Ok thanks for the info. I don’t have a micro terror, it was just an example I was considering. So to use the “speaker out” I would need a amp simulator AND something for the load, if I didn’t have a speaker cab attached. BUT I don’t need to do that because the “headphone out” will give decent results for line out recording. (Just don’t unplug the headphone out without speaker attached. That’s what I think your consensus is
    Well, you can use headphone and line outs for recording, but how "decent" that sounds entirely depends on the amp and listener.

    I wonder why does Micro Terror needs cab connected . But I guess you should do that when the manual says so.
    "So understand/Don't waste your time always searching for those wasted years/Face up, make your stand/And realize you're living in the golden years"
    Iron Maiden - Wasted Years

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •