Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

  1. #1
    Tone Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    153

    Default Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    I have a peavey vypyr vip 3 solid state amp does it need maintenance like a tube amp? i know removing dust is one thing lol but anything else i need to know? like should i replace the speaker every year? etc... thank you

  2. #2
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,814

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Not regular maintenance or health checks like a tube amp.

    The 1/4" jacks should be cleaned every year or two with De-oxit or similar electronic connector cleaner -or Isopropyl alcohol and maybe the fuse swapped after many years, but unless it's making noise from aging caps etc, I'd say there's not much to do -maybe clean the grill cloth, maybe gently clear the speaker of dust build up after years, check the speaker connections. I don't believe their are any analog pots on the face either, just digital controllers -so no pots to clean either.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  3. #3
    Ultimate Tone Slacker NecroPolo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Land of Confusion
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,421

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Hell yeah.

    Checking / changing crackling pots, switches, jack slots, suspicious condensers and cracks on the mainboard e.t.c. They are less of a headache and break less frequently in my experience but still require some care to run long and happy.

  4. #4
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,284

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    I'd say that they would need slightly more care than a pedal. Just make sure it is clean, the pots aren't scratchy, and the speaker doesn't rot out.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  5. #5
    Underglazed Hair Metalologist 80's_Metal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    17
    Posts
    9,243

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    They Only need maintenance after I use em....

  6. #6
    8 strings of madness! JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    18,246

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    For the record, your amp would be considered digital, not solid state.

  7. #7
    Tone Member JamesPaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hometown of THE GODZ
    Age
    53
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    I always view amp scheduled maintenance like this. A solid state amp is like a clock-radio. A tube amp is like an automobile.
    "The truth is that I have preserved my sanity, and, I sometimes think, my life, by not getting enmeshed in the turbulent world of rockaboogie music." - John Peel

    Seymour Duncans currently in use - Duncan Custom(b)/Jazz(n), P-Rails(b)/Vintage Stack Tele(n), Duncan Distortion(b)/Jazz(n), 59(b)/59(n) w/A4 mag, Seth Lover(b)/Seth Lover(n), Mag Mic, Brobucker(b), P-Rails(b)/P-Rails(n)

  8. #8
    Mojo's Minions ItsaBass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    11,579

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    The shared parts between tube and solid state amps can have the same problems on both types. Obviously tube amps have parts that solid state amps do not have, and these parts need periodic replacement; that doesn't really exist in solid state amps. But you do still have to worry about standard upkeep of the components of the amp. E.g. jacks, pots, etc. That stuff can crap out on any type of "actual" (i.e. not "virtual") amp.
    Quote Originally Posted by LesStrat View Post
    Yogi Berra was correct.
    Quote Originally Posted by JOLLY View Post
    I do a few chord things, some crappy lead stuff, and then some rhythm stuff.

  9. #9
    Mojo's Minions hamerfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany's Finest - Bavaria
    Posts
    3,608

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Dusting off?
    I get the feeling the A8 will blow your skirt up more so - Edgecrusher

    Smooth trades with Jerryjg, ArtieToo, Theodie, Micah, trevorus, Pierre, pzaxtl, damian1122, Thames, Diocletian, Kevinabb, Fakiekid, oilpit, checo, BachToRock, majewsky, joyouswolf, Koreth, Pontiac Jack, Jeff_H

  10. #10
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,814

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    OP, People are overthinking this becuase they aren't realizing the amp you have. It's a composite digital/solid state amp -the knobs are encoder knobs not audio pots -so refer to my original post. Literally the only maintenance until something fails or the amp is getting noisy is cleaning the grill cloth and exterior tolex and cleaning the 1/4" jacks with isopropyl alcohol or de-oxit once a year

    trust me -that's it -for what you have. no worries!

    Have a blast -you have a cool little amp.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  11. #11
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    21,284

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    well, the other thing is to regularly check for firmware updates.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  12. #12
    A Ficus ehdwuld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    South Alabama
    Posts
    9,517

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Unplug it during storms
    It could be damaged by lightning and such
    It could be damaged by low voltage as well like brown outs

    The speaker is designed for a modeling amp
    And swapping the speaker may not have the desired effect

    Dont hose it down like you would an automobile

    Take care.when riding it down wheelchair ramps on its casters

    Ok I'm just trying to think of all the ways I've seen solid state amps fail
    EHD
    Just here surfing Guitar Pron
    RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
    SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
    Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
    Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
    Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
    Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
    GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

  13. #13
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    2,814

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mincer View Post
    well, the other thing is to regularly check for firmware updates.
    This is pretty damn good point.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  14. #14
    Tone Member smitty302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    I bought a Peavey Bandit 75 brand new in 1987, it was my first amp. I've never done one thing to it despite years of total abuse. It's been loaned out countless times. One time I found out a guy used it for a bass amp at a gig because his amp blew, I was pissed. But it still sounds just like it did 32 year's ago.

  15. #15
    HardtailPisser ibanezrocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    31
    Posts
    4,000

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty302 View Post
    I bought a Peavey Bandit 75 brand new in 1987, it was my first amp. I've never done one thing to it despite years of total abuse. It's been loaned out countless times. One time I found out a guy used it for a bass amp at a gig because his amp blew, I was pissed. But it still sounds just like it did 32 year's ago.
    +1

    Unless it breaks, leave it alone. You're more likely to break it doing "maintenance" than actually help anything.

    Sent from my BlackBerry using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Nostalgic Distortion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    The Great North Woods!!!
    Age
    85
    Posts
    1,765

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Quote Originally Posted by 80's_Metal View Post
    They Only need maintenance after I use em....
    Ha!!!!!!
    I live in Northern New Hampshire, we shoot the things we don't understand here???

  17. #17
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Nostalgic Distortion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    The Great North Woods!!!
    Age
    85
    Posts
    1,765

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    To answer your question, no not unless you are experiencing problems...
    I live in Northern New Hampshire, we shoot the things we don't understand here???

  18. #18
    Tone Member JamesPaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hometown of THE GODZ
    Age
    53
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Regarding the firmware, Peavey considers the Vypyr VIP firmware to be stable and it hasn't been updated in several years.

    Still as Mincer noted, firmware updates would be a maintenance item for modeling devices.
    "The truth is that I have preserved my sanity, and, I sometimes think, my life, by not getting enmeshed in the turbulent world of rockaboogie music." - John Peel

    Seymour Duncans currently in use - Duncan Custom(b)/Jazz(n), P-Rails(b)/Vintage Stack Tele(n), Duncan Distortion(b)/Jazz(n), 59(b)/59(n) w/A4 mag, Seth Lover(b)/Seth Lover(n), Mag Mic, Brobucker(b), P-Rails(b)/P-Rails(n)

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    I recently got a 2nd hand 1997 Marshall Valvestate II VS65R. I know this is a hybrid amp with an ECC83 in the preamp and a solid state "everything else". I got lucky with it because everything is solid on the PCB.
    But I looked into changing the stock tube to a JJ ECC83s. I found a D-Lab Electronics maintenance vid on YT to help me out (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIqtvDH9pkk). The main problem with the amp in the vid is from connections breaking on the PCB after a good number of years. I would imagine this is the same for most SS and Valve amps when they get old. The soldering repairs in this vid are probably closer to a professional level, but they are something to think about with an older amp.
    Last edited by SkyMonkey; 05-09-2019 at 11:27 AM.

  20. #20
    Mojo's Minions Gtrjunior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Wherever you go, there you are.
    Posts
    5,354

    Default Re: Do solid state amps need maintenance?

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyMonkey View Post
    I recently got a 2nd hand 1997 Marshall Valvestate II VS65R. I know this is a hybrid amp with an ECC83 in the preamp and a solid state "everything else". I got lucky with it because everything is solid on the PCB.
    But I looked into changing the stock tube to a JJ ECC83s. I found a D-Lab Electronics maintenance vid on YT to help me out (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIqtvDH9pkk). The main problem with the amp in the vid is from connections breaking on the PCB after a good number of years. I would imagine this is the same for most SS and Valve amps when they get old. The soldering repairs in this vid are probably closer to a professional level, but they are something to think about with an older amp.
    I didn’t watch the vid but is the connections issue due to changing the preamp tube?
    You should just be able to pull it out and push a new one in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •