Thread: Went and tried some guitars today. And did Gibson change their neck profiles?

Default Went and tried some guitars today. And did Gibson change their neck profiles?

We made a trip to a shop thatís a little over an hour from us. They had a pretty good selection and have some of the better quality stuff. I spent about 2 hours trying stuff i played everything through a PRS MT15 head.
    First up I tried a ESP E-11 M series. I have never tried a higher end ESP before. It played real nice and the bare knuckle pickups sounded good. Not sure what models they were though. It was definitely geared more toward metal. The only downside I found was I didnít care for the neck thickness.
    Next was a music man cutlass. Fit and finish were nice. I really liked the feel of the roasted maple neck. I it pulled off the cleans and bluesy stuff I like to play. But fell short on the down tuned stuff.

Next was a music man Luke III . Fit and finish were the best out of all of the guitars I tried. The neck was so smooth it pretty much played its self. It did most styles of music I played very well. But once again fell short on the down tuned stuff. Which was a shame as it was the best feeling guitar.

Next was a Gibson 2019 les Paul gold top standard with 50ís neck. Fit and finish were a lot better than I expected. Weight was around 10 pounds. It sounded and played like a good les Paul should. No push pull pots or anything thatís not needed. Sounded good with every style I played. But the neck seemed different than what Iím used to. I have played a lot of the 50ís necks but this one seemed bigger to me.

Next was a 2019 les Paul classic. It was about the same as the standard. Fit and finish were nice weight was good. The slim taper neck seemed thinner than the one on my last SG.

Finally was a PRS custom 24. Fit and finish were nice. It was a quality made instrument for sure. But I didnít like it. It just did not inspire me to want to play.