Likes Likes:  0

Thread: "Master" switch for phase switching/series switching/preamp

Default "Master" switch for phase switching/series switching/preamp

Hi, first post here.
    Rn, I am working on the wiring for my first build and I was wondering if there was a way to wire a single switch to operate as a "master" phase/out of phase for whichever pups are on, instead of having one for each pickup like the 50s Jimmy Page wiring scheme. This question also applies for series/parallel and as a bonus, the EMG PA2 boost preamp, do I need to have one PA2 for each pickup? As they are rather expensive I would obviously prefer having to only buy one.
    Thanks in advance and I apologize for everything that may be considered basic that I don't know wiring-wise since as I previously said, this is my first build.
    P.D.: I plan on using the PA2 as a passive to active device so that I can mix my EMG 81 with passive pickups, feel free to recommend other internal preamps, preferably cheaper.

Default "Master" switch for phase switching/series switching/preamp

The phase switch on JP wiring is a master phase switch. Phase only exists between two pickups on at the same time, and the only way to put them out of phase is to flip the phase of only one of the pickups so that both pickups become out of phase relative to each other.

Pickups in series or parallel is the same thing. Both have to be on to hear the effect, but the change only take place with one of the pickups, relative to the other. Unless you are talking about individual pickup coils in series or parallel, in which case I donít think you would want that on a single master switch because then you are stuck with all pickups either being in series mode or parallel and canít mix and match as needed.
    Last edited by beaubrummels; 06-14-2019 at 11:44 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Demanic
    Incompetence is widespread in a world that rewards mediocrity while punishing excellence.