Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recreating The Majesty 7 (2019) By John Petrucci

Default Recreating The Majesty 7 (2019) By John Petrucci

Howdy,

I'm new to humbuckers and the electronics, but I require to know if my ideas similar to the Majesty 7 will work for my new guitar design.
    I desire;
    - A set of Seymour Duncan Active Blackouts to be able to do humbucker and single coil sounds (split coil I believe)
    - I'm not sure what would happen if I used more than one potentiometer to get more than a 20db boost
    - With everything listed above would it be possible to add a piezo system for acoustic sounds as well

Name:  body-77.jpg
Views: 222
Size:  36.7 KB

Tone Member

Default Re: Recreating The Majesty 7 (2019) By John Petrucci

Unfortunately, as far as I'm aware, none of the production iterations of Blackouts can do coil splits. You'd have to contact the Custom Shop to see if they could do something like that for you.

What about the other questions?

You might be able to use passive pickups along with a preamp, which would allow you to split the pickups. I am curious to why you would need a more than 20dB boost- I'd just use a Pickup Booster pedal.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

1) Can't coil-split Blackouts. Some Blackouts models have a jumper you can wire to a switch to change output settings, but it's nothing like a coil split, much closer to a volume boost than anything. If you want splittable actives, check out the Fishman Fluence line

2) The Majesty uses passive pickups and an active boost circuit. This is an ideal setup with the most options for creative wiring and onboard control over the output compared to actives. Hardest part is picking a boost circuit

3) Mincer's suggestion of a Pickup Booster pedal is a good one. It's like taking the internal boost circuit of the Majesty and making it a pedal you can use with any guitar.