Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

  1. #1
    Sock Market Trader GuitarStv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14,678

    Default Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    OK, so I've been super happy with my Traynor YCV40WR in the 14 or 15 years I've had it. Great clean sounds, great overdrive, flexible tone controls, etc.

    But I've always thought the reverb sound sucked. Before 9 o'clock you can't hear it, and above 3 it is too much. There's a sweet spot at about 2 o'clock on the knob where it is just the right amount of 'verb - but the sound of it is crap. It's kinda tinny/sproingy. I want deep/lush/watery. So I've pretty much just resigned myself to turning it off all the time and dealing. But yesterday I thought - hell, maybe it's the reverb tank. According to the owner's manual it's an Accutronics 4EB3C1B. Which the internet tells me is pretty standard:
    - The 4 means 17" long, 2 springs (a 9 here would mean 17" long
    - The E means 600 ohm input impedence
    - The B means 2250 ohm output impedence
    - The 3 means long tail (as opposed to 2 - medium, or 1 - short)
    - The C means input insulated, output grounded
    - The 1 means no locking device (not sure exactly what they're talking about here)
    - The B means horizontal mounting, open side down

    Would swapping it out for a different tank (by a different manufacturer), or maybe a three spring tank (9EB3C1B) make much difference to the reverb sound?
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

  2. #2
    LoveMachineologist jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    albany, ny
    Age
    42
    Posts
    29,673

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    i swapped my fender stand alone tank to the 3 spring tank and it did make a difference but it already sounded awesome so not sure itll make much difference in your case but ???

  3. #3
    Mojo's Minions
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    4,003

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    That's already a higher quality tank from that era. But there are many Accutronic tanks that are more dramatic and different and there are lots of other mfgs with different appeal.

    I say go for it -do some experimenting. -See if a dealer will front you 3-4 you can bench test.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  4. #4
    Sock Market Trader GuitarStv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14,678

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    That's a good idea. It's just plugging in RCA jacks to swap, so if I could find a place with a few different tanks kicking around I could figure out if it'll work or not in a matter of minutes.
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

  5. #5
    Sock Market Trader GuitarStv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14,678

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?



    I'm hearing a difference between manufacturers.
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

  6. #6
    Sock Market Trader GuitarStv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14,678

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Are there plate reverb tanks that you could swap in as well as spring?
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

  7. #7
    PenultimateTone Member Demanic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Phoenix area.
    Age
    52
    Posts
    14,605

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Don't plate reverbs require quite a large plate?

    Sent from my Alcatel_5044C using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Mojo's Minions
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    4,003

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Quote Originally Posted by GuitarStv View Post
    That's a good idea. It's just plugging in RCA jacks to swap, so if I could find a place with a few different tanks kicking around I could figure out if it'll work or not in a matter of minutes.
    I can think of several online outlets that would be ok with me purchasing 4 tanks and returning 3 tanks.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  9. #9
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Jacew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,422

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Quote Originally Posted by Demanic View Post
    Don't plate reverbs require quite a large plate?

    Sent from my Alcatel_5044C using Tapatalk
    Yep. They're large studio devices.

    I don't think plate that fits inside amp would give noticeable reverb.
    "So understand/Don't waste your time always searching for those wasted years/Face up, make your stand/And realize you're living in the golden years"
    Iron Maiden - Wasted Years

  10. #10
    Sock Market Trader GuitarStv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14,678

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Huh. I just went down an extended google rabbit hole about plate reverbs. Interesting stuff . . . but yeah, probably won't plug into my guitar amp. :P
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

  11. #11
    Mojo's Minions
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    In a Studio with your Mom
    Posts
    4,003

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jacew View Post
    Yep. They're large studio devices.

    I don't think plate that fits inside amp would give noticeable reverb.
    Yeah, the ones in the studios I've worked in are the German ones generally 8 to 12 ft long

    But don't listen to us GuitarStv !!!! Somebody science the **** out of a plate reverb like they do bass with a folded horn array!

    Get that F**ker in an amp!
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

  12. #12
    Super Toneologist DavidRavenMoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,347

    Default Re: Replacing a reverb pan in an amp - what difference does it make?

    Quote Originally Posted by NegativeEase View Post
    Yeah, the ones in the studios I've worked in are the German ones generally 8 to 12 ft long

    But don't listen to us GuitarStv !!!! Somebody science the **** out of a plate reverb like they do bass with a folded horn array!

    Get that F**ker in an amp!
    Just get a digital reverb pedal like the EHX Holy Grail Max. Has spring, plate, and hall settings.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •