Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Gain pedals in the loop?

  1. #21
    Mojo's Minions dystrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West St. Paul, MN
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,658

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidRavenMoon View Post
    Traditionally effects loops were always for line level devices. That’s why they often have volume controls. Plus the types of effects you would insert there, like reverb, has until recently always been rack units.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidRavenMoon View Post
    “Get your levels right

    Another element that is sometimes overlooked is ensuring your effects can handle the line-level output that is typically sent from your amplifier’s effects loop. Depending on the pedal, hitting your stompbox with a line-level signal can overload the circuit, resulting in less-than-desirable performance. Read your pedal’s manual to find out if it can hang with that stronger signal.”

    https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/us...-effects-loop/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The loop in my 2555 Jubilee is definitely line level, and lots of stomp boxes sound pretty lousy with levels that hot. I'm used to running my board out front, so I've never tried the loop in my 2525H.
    Quote Originally Posted by crusty philtrum View Post
    And that's probably because most people with electric guitars seem more interested in their own performance rather than the effect on the listener ... in fact i don't think many people who own electric guitars even give a poop about the effect on a listener. Which is why many people play electric guitars but very very few of them are actually musicians.

  2. #22
    LoveMachineologist jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    albany, ny
    Age
    42
    Posts
    29,670

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    older designs like the 2555 are definitely designed for rack gear but lots of more modern designs are switchable since at this point way more people use pedals than rack gear

  3. #23
    Ultimate Tone Slacker
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,837

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    There's a lot of amps that only have instrument-level loops now, too. Because racks are dead and everyone uses pedalboards. *sigh*

  4. #24
    Just A Minion ErikH's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    The Lonestar State
    Age
    48
    Posts
    20,036

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    My old Marshall JCM 900 MkIII loop had a level control on it. I had to dial it back all the way down when running a Boss DD-3 through it. It was a killer setup too. The Ibanez DE-7 was great with it too. In the mid-90's I had a Rocktron Intellifex running through it and half-way on the loop was good enough for it.

    But, an overdrive or distortion in the loop? Just no. Unless it is a "pre-amp" like an AMT Legend series pedal or the like. In that case, as mentioned the guitar plugs in to the pedal and out of the pedal to the effects return, which goes right to the power amp after the tone stack (and before the phase inverter in a tube amp). But send/return on a gain pedal, yuck! Yes, I've tried it.

  5. #25
    Super Toneologist Coma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    Quote Originally Posted by PFDarkside View Post
    One thing to watch out for, keep you master low on the gain pedal and roll it up after you engage it. Sometimes your amp’s master is pre-loop so you can get a huge volume blast if you aren’t careful.
    Just moved my clean boost into the FX loop. Knowing fully well the risks mentioned, I bottomed out the gain and volume knobs on it before connecting my board. Then spent the following 15 minutes troubleshooting and checking and re-cheking connections because for some mysterious reason no sound was coming through when the boost pedal was engaged
    --------------------------------------------------------
    1973 Aria 551
    1984 Larrivee RS-4 w/ EMG SA/SA/89
    1989 Charvel 750 XL w/ DMZ Tone Zone & Air Norton
    1990's noname crap-o-caster plywood P/J Bass
    1991 Heartfield Elan III w/ DMZ mystery pups
    1995 Aria Pro II TA-65
    2001 Gibson Les Paul Gothic w/ PG-1 & SH-8

  6. #26
    Just A Minion ErikH's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    The Lonestar State
    Age
    48
    Posts
    20,036

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    Now, a clean, and I mean clean boost can work well in the loop, especially on one channel amps and when you get your drive from the amp. Since the max headroom of the preamp has been reached, the only way to boost for a lead is either the sound man does it at the board (old school) or something post preamp, like a clean boost in the loop. It could be touchy but it'll work.

  7. #27
    Mojo's Minions devastone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Longmont, CO, USA
    Posts
    5,513

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    Quote Originally Posted by Coma View Post
    Just moved my clean boost into the FX loop. Knowing fully well the risks mentioned, I bottomed out the gain and volume knobs on it before connecting my board. Then spent the following 15 minutes troubleshooting and checking and re-cheking connections because for some mysterious reason no sound was coming through when the boost pedal was engaged
    Quote Originally Posted by ErikH View Post
    Now, a clean, and I mean clean boost can work well in the loop, especially on one channel amps and when you get your drive from the amp. Since the max headroom of the preamp has been reached, the only way to boost for a lead is either the sound man does it at the board (old school) or something post preamp, like a clean boost in the loop. It could be touchy but it'll work.
    Yes, a high headroom boost can work great in the loop, assuming your turn the knobs up.

  8. #28
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Van Noord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    METAL INDIGNATION!
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: Gain pedals in the loop?

    The effects return jack is similar to a power amp in.

    You aren't using the effects "loop" if you're only using the power amp in. (loop return)

    ...and it does work, and makes many previously labeled garbage distortion pedals become quite useable.
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •